At GameChanger, we strive to make every our apps better all the time.
A few weeks ago, a team within GameChanger decided that we would improve our messaging experience. And today, we have big news to share.
On Nov 15, 2021, we will be launching a new Messaging service in the GameChanger app. We're excited for this new launch, re-built from the ground up, to make Messaging a dependable part of your team management toolkit.
The primary change we're making is rebuilding the messaging feature. We're confident that the new service will provide the reliability our users expect from a messaging feature.
We're also introducing features that we believe will make our users' lives easier. These new features include the ability to rename custom channels and to share files and gifs. The rebuilt experience will also allow our development team to quickly deliver useful new features going forward.
For a vast majority of teams, the transition will be seamless. Read on to find out how the change might affect you and your team.
Any teams created after the switchover on Nov 15 will automatically use the new messaging experience. You will continue to have a Team All-Hands channel that includes any Staff member, Family member, or Player who joins the team. You'll continue to have the ability to create custom channels, share event updates, and share photos and videos. All the new features will also be available to all your team members once they update their GameChanger app to the most recent version.
For teams that are in the middle of their season on November 15 or, more generally, if you have important messages stored in Messaging channels created before the switchover, you may experience a slight disruption.
First, all your existing channels and channel members will be migrated over to the new service. You'll be able to send and receive messages, media, and files to the same people you were able to previously. However, all the existing message and media contents of those channels will only be available as a read-only archive until January 17, 2022. After that date, you will lose all access to the archived content.
We urge you to download any important photos or videos in existing messaging channels for safekeeping. Further, we also recommend that you take a screenshot of (or otherwise copy) any important messages from the archived channels before you lose access to them on January 17, 2022.
While we recognize that this will cause a bit of a disruption to your existing communication flow, we believe this will increase the reliability of the messaging service going forward, ultimately resulting in a much better experience communicating with your team. We thank you for your understanding and patience while we make this transition!
As always, our excellent Customer Experience team is available to answer any questions or issues you might encounter during this switchover. Please reach out to us at firstname.lastname@example.org and we'll do our best to get you on your way!